Jump to content
Frobby

Red Sox batted out of order in the 9th inning last night

Recommended Posts

Nothing more to say, except how does that happen in a major league game?    I guess when the score is 16-3, nobody really is paying attention.  

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Frobby said:

Nothing more to say, except how does that happen in a major league game?    I guess when the score is 16-3, nobody really is paying attention.  

I don't know how that happened either. Oh well O's won 16-3. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

VddSyPN.jpg

OSqm70G.jpg

I see Chris Young playing the whole game in the box score but the play-by-play has Young replacing Hanley Ramirez in the 9th. Not sure if that's what's being referred to here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Enjoy Terror said:

VddSyPN.jpg

OSqm70G.jpg

I see Chris Young playing the whole game in the box score but the play-by-play has Young replacing Hanley Ramirez in the 9th. Not sure if that's what's being referred to here.

Ramirez replaced Young I believe when Moreland went in to pitch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, Enjoy Terror said:

VddSyPN.jpg

OSqm70G.jpg

I see Chris Young playing the whole game in the box score but the play-by-play has Young replacing Hanley Ramirez in the 9th. Not sure if that's what's being referred to here.

When Moreland moved from 1B to pitch, and Hanley came in to play 1B, the Red Sox lost the DH so Young should have been out of the game.  Ramirez should have batted there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Frobby said:

Nothing more to say, except how does that happen in a major league game?    I guess when the score is 16-3, nobody really is paying attention.  

Should of protested it! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, schittenden said:

Buck noticed but didn't care. Young PH after getting three plate appearances as the DH. 

http://www.telegram.com/sports/20170826/red-sox-notes-chris-young-hits-in-hanley-ramirezs-spot-during-out-of-order-blowout

A Red Sox pitcher might try to bean Buck for showing them up by not caring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

 

8/25/2017 - Although it was not actually a case of batting out of turn, the Red Sox had an amazing mistake in the 9th inning of their 16-3 loss to Baltimore on August 25, 2017. As is often the custom in such lopsided contests, the Red Sox put a position player on the mound in the top of the 9th. In this case, it was Mitch Moreland, who had played first base the entire game to this point. The Red Sox lost the DH for the remainder of the game and the new first baseman, Hanley Ramirez, entered the game in the 7th spot in the batting order, formerly occupied by DH Chris Young. They made no other changes. Moreland did well in his one inning as pitcher, allowing no runs on two hits and even collecting a strikeout.

The trouble occurred in the home 9th. The first batter was Rafael Devers, batting in the 6th spot. He made an out and the proper next batter was Ramirez. However, Chris Young came to the plate and singled – even though he was no longer in the game! This is the only case of illegal lineup reentry in Major League history. No one appeared to notice – not the umpires or either team. Since it was a 16-3 game with two outs to go, it is likely that Ramirez had not even thought about where he was batting. As for DH Young, he simply followed Devers to the plate as he had all night. The official remedy is to call Young a pinch-hitter for Ramirez, which causes all the official totals to come out right.

 

http://retrosheet.org/outturn.htm

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Enjoy Terror said:

I'm not sure that we can say that the umpires didn't notice.  They very well may have noticed.  The plate umpire keeps the official lineup card, but I don't think it is his responsibility to prevent a team from batting out of order or making an illegal reentry.  That is an appeal matter.  It would be up to the defensive team (in this case, the Orioles) to appeal, if they wish.  If either the Orioles or Red Sox had noticed the error and brought it to the umpire's attention during the at bat, the proper batter would enter at that point, assuming the count.  If the improper batter made an out, the Orioles would have no reason to appeal, since an out is an out.  Since the batter singled, I believe it was up to the Orioles to point out the improper batter and appeal to the umpire before the next pitch.  Had they done so, the runner would be removed from first base, and the batter that missed his turn (Ramirez) would be declared out.  The Orioles did not appeal.  I'm pretty sure that there was no umpire error here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


Orioles Information


Orioles News and Information

Daily Organizational Boxscores
News

Tony's Takes

Orioles Roster Resource

Orioles Prospect Information

2018 End of Season Top 30 Prospects List

Prospect Scouting Reports

Statistics

2019 Orioles Stats

2019 Orioles Minor League Stats

Baseball Savant Stats






×
×
  • Create New...