Jump to content

2011 BBWAA Awards


Recommended Posts

Sports Guy already started one for the ROY awards, but since there wasn't any discussion going on in that one I thought we could have one thread to cover all of them.


Rookie of the Year:

AL - Jeremy Hellickson, RHP, Tampa Bay

NL - Craig Kimbrel, RHP, Atlanta

AL Cy Young - Justin Verlander, RHP, Detroit

Manager of the Year:

AL - Joe Maddon, MGR, Tampa Bay

NL - Kirk Gibson, MGR, Arizona

NL Cy Young - Clayton Kershaw, LHP, Los Angeles

AL Most Valuable Player - Justin Verlander, RHP, Detroit

NL Most Valuable Player - [Tuesday, November 22]

Link to comment
Share on other sites

My comments:

- Hellickson and Kimbrel are fine choices. Even though he fell off through the season I'm surprised that Pineda didn't get more support. Same with Ackley and Jennings, though for different reasons. I'm not sure why Walden received any votes. I'm also surprised Kimbrel was unanimous, though he didn't really have much competition.

- The only issue with the Cy Young voting is that Jose Valverde received any votes, let alone a second-place vote and enough points to finish fifth. Its also interesting that David Robertson was voted fifth by somebody, though he was far more deserving than Latin Kevin Gregg.

- Since Maddon won the AL award mostly due to his team's late comeback, I'm surprised that Tony LaRussa didn't receive much support outside the plurality of third-place votes. Gibson is a good choice. I do want to see Craig Calcaterra's comments on Fredi Gonzalez finishing fifth and receiving four votes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Braun is NL MVP


Braun earned the MVP on Tuesday, receiving 20 of 32 first-place votes and 388 points in voting announced by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Los Angeles center fielder Matt Kemp, who came close to winning the Triple Crown, received 10 first-place votes and finished with 332 points. Braun's teammate Prince Fielder finished third with 229 points, and Arizona's Justin Upton finished fourth with 214 points.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Absolutely. Similar offensive numbers, while playing a tougher position. I know why Braun won, but I don't think having better teammates is a good rationale for giving out an individual reward.

Yeah I thought Kemp was going to get it, but the stats are similar enough. Remove Kemp from the Dodgers and they go from bad to ghastly. Remove Braun from the Brewers and they don't get into the playoffs. I know that isn't the criteria for voting, but it ends up that way anyway.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...