Jump to content

A perfect game that is not a no-hitter?


Recommended Posts

Hypothetical question: Say a batter hits a single but is thrown out trying to stretch to a double. The batter never reaches base, having been thrown out in the same play that he hit the ball in play. If this is the only hit in a game, does the game still count as a perfect game?

The MLB rules specifically say 27 up, 27 down, with no distinction as to how the 27 batters are thrown out. However, other sources seem to indicate that a perfect game is by necessity a no-hitter.

This also applies to ROEs where the batter is thrown out trying for an extra base.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...