Someone please explain to me...

... why everyone thinks Tim Beckham is so great, and should be taken over Smoak, Matusz, Posey, or anyone else worthy of consideration at 1:4.

I'm not a professional scout, but why are there so many questions about Gordon Beckham's swing compared to very, very few about Tim's? To me, Tim's looks quite a bit worse from what I've seen, particularly the one on Camden Depot. I don't know if that's fully representative of what he'll be like, as that pitch looks to be a bit high, but it appears to me that he won't be able to drive the ball at all with such a short stride and very little use of his legs.

I understand Tim's a great fielder, and at SS that's more valuable than anywhere else, as well as having good speed. But I wouldn't take a guy with the fourth overall pick based on his fielding and running. If TBeckham can't hit, and I'm certainly not convinced he can, I really don't want him. If scouts think he'll be okay, I want to know why before I immediately hail him as a great pick and a steal at #4.

... why everyone thinks Tim Beckham is so great, and should be taken over Smoak, Matusz, Posey, or anyone else worthy of consideration at 1:4.

I'm not a professional scout, but why are there so many questions about Gordon Beckham's swing compared to very, very few about Tim's? To me, Tim's looks quite a bit worse from what I've seen, particularly the one on Camden Depot. I don't know if that's fully representative of what he'll be like, as that pitch looks to be a bit high, but it appears to me that he won't be able to drive the ball at all with such a short stride and very little use of his legs.