Loewen done pitching

BaltimoreTerp

http://weblogs.baltimoresun.com/sports/roch/blog/2008/07/the_news.html

I'll go in more depth later, but Adam Loewen is done as a pitcher. He's going to reinvent himself as an outfielder/first baseman, perhaps as early as the fall instructional league.

Another surgery on his elbow would have sidelined him for an estimated 1 1/2 years, and he wasn't willing to go down that path.

"I'm always going to be a pitcher," he said. "I've been doing it since I was 9 years old. It's going to be hard to let it go, but God has a plan for me."

Also, the Orioles acquired shortstop Juan Castro from Triple-A Colorado Springs for Triple-A Norfolk infielder Mike McCoy. Castro was added to the 25-man roster, and the Orioles outrighted Freddie Bynum to Triple-A. Bynum has 72 hours to accept the assignment.

Randor Bierd has returned from his injury rehab assignment. He's on his way to the ballpark right now. To make room, the Orioles placed Greg Aquino on the disabled list with a strained hamstring.

More to come.

Um...wow.

• Replies 108
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Here's the million dollar question for me... Is Adam Loewen's career as an Oriole now over?

Unfortunately for the O's (as well as for Adam) is that he is out of options. He won't be able to reinvent himself in the minors ala Rick Ankiel, he'll have to be on the 25-man roster. Sure, there's the fall instructional league as well as spring training, but will that be enough? Most certainly not. Would the Orioles stash him on their bench while he continues to adjust and learn? Or will they simply have to let him go? This could be quite an interesting predictament.

Here's the million dollar question for me... Is Adam Loewen's career as an Oriole now over?