Luis Arraez v. Ty Cobb v. Josh Gibson

Just Regular

Aside from being what it takes IRL to acquire Pablo Lopez, Luis Arraez is now at a lifetime batting average of .321 across ~1750 PA in today's game brought to you by Andrew Friedman, powered by Driveline.

This is my first time zooming out to all history (link) since FG added the Negro Leagues data to their repository, and new to me Gibson (and the 80-nicknamed Heavy Johnson!) beat Cobb's .366.

https://www.fangraphs.com/leaders.aspx?pos=all&stats=bat&lg=all&qual=1500&type=1&season=2023&month=0&season1=1871&ind=0&team=0&rost=0&age=0&filter=&players=0&startdate=1871-01-01&enddate=2023-12-31&sort=7,d

Active Roster guys - Arraez beating Altuve/Miggy/Trout by ~15-20 points.

Across Cobb's 1905-1928 career, he beat Hornsby and Shoeless Joe by about ~5-10.

Across Carew's 1967-1985 career, he beat George Brett by 12 among guys whose careers largely overlapped.

Across Gwynn's 1982-2001 career, he beat Wade Boggs by 10.

Granted Arraez's ongoing numbers haven't had their decline phase drag down yet.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.