Feeling Nostalgic about the 70's

Sanity Check

2 minutes ago, Sanity Check said:

Let me first apologize to those not old enough to have experienced the following experiences from the 70's, since these might only apply to those of us who are 50+......did anyone else on here enjoy these??

1. The Oriole bird comic drawings on the front page of the Sunpaper the morning after every game, capturing the result of the game and either showing the cartoon Bird beating up the other team, or getting somehow destroyed by them depending on the outcome of the previous day's game.

2. The line scores on the front page of sports section the morning after a west coast game, where the first 4 or 5 innings were in Sunpaper print font, and the last few innings and game totals were literally written in before the paper was printed.

3. The weekly Sporting News Magazine filled with box scores from the entire week.  I'm an accountant. in real life.....and back then, I lived for that stuff.

4. The Baseball crossword puzzles in the Baseball Digest......

Anyone remember those days??  Any others people would like to add??? 

Growing up in Rochester I didn't get the Sun but followed the O's, my favorite team, having seen many of the team coming through the Rochester Red Wings.  Of course, back then, there was that annual O's visit that you could not miss.  

I forgot the West Coast games.  They rarely made it to the paper at all. I was annoyed with only the first few innings being in there but never remember it being some big tragic situation as I could imagine a few minutes would be these days, but I digress.

Baseball probably helped me more with math than many classes. My skills from spending hours with stats still serve me well decades later.

Thanks for sharing!

• Upvote 1