Greatest Dynasties?

SrMeowMeow

I'm looking to get some input on the greatest dynasties since 1975 for an article I'm writing. I would roughly define a dynasty as a 5+ year streak of playoff appearances with at least one WS appearance, but that definition is flexible right now. For example, the 1991 - 2005 Braves. I'm not an expert in baseball history and I'd really appreciate the help.

-The Athletics from 88-90 was a mini dynasty... not sure if you could stretch them to 5 years.

-The Yankees from 96-01 was definitely a dynasty (I'd include them in the article just so I can draw attention to how the D-Backs brought down the dynasty).

-The Twins from 87-91 might qualify

-The Indians from 94-98ish was a great collection of players but they never won anything.

Those and the Braves pretty much do it...

There were a lot more dynasties before 1975 (Yankees a few times, Athletics, Orioles, Big Red Machine...)

... -The Yankees from 96-01 was definitely a dynasty (I'd include them in the article just so I can draw attention to how the D-Backs brought down the dynasty).

The Diamondbacks didn't "bring down the dynasty". They halted a streak of three straight world championships, but the Yankees streak of playoff appearances which began in 1995 didn't end until the Rays and Red Sox combined to edge them out last year. That's 13 straight post season appearances, 2 more than the Braves streak, which also began in 1995 but ended 2 years earlier than the Yankees streak did.

Other than that, the Yankees have 2 streaks of 5 straight post season appearances -- from 1949 to 1953 and from 1960 to 1964. Sandwiched in between those 2 5-year streaks was a 4 year streak with only a year on each side separating. Between 1947 and 1964, the Yankees missed the post season only 3 times, winning 15 pennants and 10 world championships. That's how I would define a "dynasty".