Hyde on the Infield plans

Just Regular

8 minutes ago, Sports Guy said:

I’m surprised they aren’t moving Mateo around some, especially in the OF.

The Mateo OF thing has always seemed like an OH-specific thing. They already have McKenna who is arguably a better hitter than Mateo and a professional OF by trade, and also plenty fast enough. I guess you could stack righties in the OF with a Mateo/McKenna/Hays OF left to right, but at that point I'd rather just have Mullins in there. 

To me, it makes sense to keep Mateo exactly where he accumulated the majority of his value, which was by playing elite SS defense. 

• Upvote 3

1 minute ago, interloper said:

The Mateo OF thing has always seemed like an OH-specific thing. They already have McKenna who is arguably a better hitter than Mateo and a professional OF by trade, and also plenty fast enough. I guess you could stack righties in the OF with a Mateo/McKenna/Hays OF left to right, but at that point I'd rather just have Mullins in there. 

To me, it makes sense to keep Mateo exactly where he accumulated the majority of his value, which was by playing elite SS defense. 

Couldn’t agree more.   Mateo is the best defensive SS on the team.  If he’s in the lineup, why play him anywhere else?

• Upvote 4

12 minutes ago, interloper said:

Hyde and Elias constantly push the idea of versatility. 

They have the best C in baseball playing first.

Everyone is playing all over the place but not Mateo?

Thats surprising.

• Upvote 1

10 minutes ago, Frobby said:

Couldn’t agree more.   Mateo is the best defensive SS on the team.  If he’s in the lineup, why play him anywhere else?

To be contrarian, and I love Mateo's defense as much as anybody, but versatility.  If he's not going to be your everyday starting shortstop, then he's a utility player.  And a utility player that can play more than one position has more value than a utility player who doesn't.

• Upvote 1

1 minute ago, Frobby said: