Roch: Trade talks with Jones are "intensifying" again?

ChaosLex

Jones didn't provide a firm answer last night when asked during an interview on WBAL Radio whether he would be open to signing a contract extension if approached by the Orioles. Jones only confirmed that the Orioles haven't contacted his agent regarding an extension. He wasn't interested in hypothetical situations.

Jones also told host Brett Hollander that he mostly ignores all the trade rumors.

They're not going away. I heard last night that trade talks involving Jones are intensifying again, though that could mean that executive vice president Dan Duquette is fielding more calls and making counter proposals that are being rejected. I don't have specifics.

http://www.masnsports.com/school_of_roch/2012/01/cuban-outfielder-yoenis-cespedes-playing.html

• Replies 171
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Although I would love many things about being a baseball player, the uncertainty caused by trade rumors would really bother me, I suspect. It sucks not to be in control of your own destiny. You almost have to ignore the rumors to retain your sanity.

Although I would love many things about being a baseball player, the uncertainty caused by trade rumors would really bother me, I suspect. It sucks not to be in control of your own destiny. You almost have to ignore the rumors to retain your sanity.

Yeah, the business of baseball would make things less fun. But I would still have loved to have had the gifts and the opportunity to have lived that life for 10 to 13 years.

I think with all vocations, there is the glamorized aspects and the drudgery/negative components.

Unless Duquette can pillage somebody's farm system and get back players that can contribute right away, they need to keep Jones.

Our OF depth in the minors is non-existant.

I do think we focus a little to much on acquiring pitching around here. I love to see us get a top positional prospect in addition to a great young arm.