Memorable O's Lefties

wildcard

11 minutes ago, Redskins Rick said:

According to Palmer, who is supposed to know pitching.

He said Bedard had nasty stuff, and was the best Lefty the Orioles had.

He was the best I had seen since Mussina. But then again, I'm not a baseball expert and I was born in 1988, so...

48 minutes ago, wildcard said:

I was surprised to see that Luke Jackson forgot Mike Cuellar.  He won 20 games 4 times for the O's including the 1969 Cy Young award.

https://www.pressboxonline.com/2018/08/13/five-memorable-left-handed-pitchers-in-orioles-history

Well, I guess he wasn’t memorable or Luke Jackson would have remembered him.   

In all seriousness, it’s a joke that Cuellar isn’t on this list.   4th all time in wins for the franchise.

15 minutes ago, Frobby said:

In all seriousness, it’s a joke that Cuellar isn’t on this list.   4th all time in wins for the franchise.

Yes, that is a terrible oversight. And although Cuellar was a lefty, he had the screwball that played havoc on RH hitters. By far my favorite all time Oriole Lefty and it isn't really close.

27 minutes ago, Frobby said:

Like creating a list of memorable Orioles switch hitters and fail to include Ken Singleton.

2 hours ago, theobird said:

Yes, that is a terrible oversight. And although Cuellar was a lefty, he had the screwball that played havoc on RH hitters. By far my favorite all time Oriole Lefty and it isn't really close.

I remember him. He should have been on the list. To think the O's had four 20 game winners. At one time. 

20 minutes ago, Tx Oriole said:

I remember him. He should have been on the list. To think the O's had four 20 game winners. At one time. 

It was such a different era.   The O’s only used 13 pitchers the entire  season.  Those four starters made 146 starts and threw 1,081 innings, which was 76% of the total innings thrown by the staff.   

1 hour ago, MagicBird said:

As pro Skankee as Singleton is he can be forgotten.