Mora may drop his NTC!!!!!!!!!

WhoRU

• Replies 176
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was starting a thread on this but you beat me to it...

http://www.baltimoresun.com/sports/baseball/bal-mora1107,0,6622512.story

Read through some of these quotes. I used to love Melvin Mora, but this article makes him sound like a total prima donna and the total opposite of a team player. Some particular excerpts:

When referring to being benched to give Scott Moore an opportunity, he said "I've been busting my butt for seven years in the organization. I'm a two-time All-Star, I've won a Silver Slugger [award]. I don't deserve that. If I have to take that crap, I'd rather go somewhere else."

When asked about potentially moving to left-field, he said "I don't want to play those games. I'm one of the best third basemen in the American League and in baseball. If you are going to move me, you have to make the team more competitive."

Granted, there are some "I love the O's till my dying day" feel good quotes in there too, but something about these two quotes instantly made me think "I want to get rid of him" when I was done reading the article. A lot more so than anything Kevin Millar did during the postseason.

Thoughts?

"I don't want to make it seem it was Moore's fault. This kid was hungry to play," Mora said. "But I've been busting my butt for seven years in the organization. I'm a two-time All-Star, I've won a Silver Slugger [award]. I don't deserve that. If I have to take that crap, I'd rather go somewhere else."

Fine with me. Get him out of here, anyone who wants him can have him for scraps.

where could he possibly go and be a fit and what type of return could we net? I'm thinking he's much more of a deadline deal type of player when a team has lost an important piece to their lineup and are still in the playoff hunt. Figure that's when best to move him among a lot of our other guys, which is when I think/hope we can make a lot of moves this year.