The truth about the Orioles attendance - we are really #8 in the league (per capita)

Rojo13

I have grown sick of reading article after article in recent weeks of people complaining about the Orioles lack of attendance.

All of these columnists (and radio guys) are really angering me as they are writing the dumbest articles in history. As a journalist myself with an economics degree, I decided to add some facts to the discussion.

In my mind, Baltimore is a good baseball town. What people have been failing to recognize is something very simple - Baltimore isn't a very large city.

Earlier in the week, I went to mlb.com and looked up the average attendance of all the mlb clubs. I then went to wikipedia and looked up the population for the metropolitan area for each team (I even divided by 2 for cities that have two teams).

I then ranked the teams on attendance figures per capita.

Guess where we rank?

#8.

And to be honest, this quick analysis probably understates the population issue facing the Orioles as we have an MLB team 105 miles to the north of us (Philly) and another 45 miles south (Nats).

I grew up a Texas Rangers fan. The nearest team to south is Houston which is 240 miles away. The team closest to north is Kansas City which is more than 500 miles away. So teams like that can easily draw from millions of people not reflected in their metropolitan area population figures.

Before that Nats arrived, the closest team to Baltimore in a southernly direction was Atlanta which is nearly 700 miles away (699).

On any given game at Camden Yards, nearly 1% of the Baltimore metropolitan area is at the game (.96%). Yet everyone is raving about our rival Toronto?s attendance even though at any given home game, they are only attracting .74% of their metro population and they don?t have a team within 200 miles of them in any direction.