Jump to content

Link O' Rama for the Baseball Junkie


zff4

Recommended Posts

The internet has revolutionized how many of us get our information and there are great sites available for the baseball junkie. If you haven't built your link list, you don't know what you're missing. You probably know all these. But for those who don't, here you are:

These 13 indispensible sites I glace at every morning with my coffee and often before I hit the sack. Firefox's "open all in tabs" will make your life easier:

Baseball Geeks http://baseballgeeks.com/

Ballbug http://www.ballbug.com/

Ballhype http://ballhype.com/mlb/

Hardball Times http://www.hardballtimes.com/main

Baseball Digest Daily http://www.baseballdigestdaily.com/

Baseball Musings http://www.baseballmusings.com/

ProSports Daily http://www.prosportsdaily.com/mlb/mlb.html

The Baseball Analysts http://baseballanalysts.com/

Cardboard Gods http://cardboardgods.net/

Baseball Think Factory http://www.baseballthinkfactory.org/

Rotoworld http://www.rotoworld.com/content/playernews.aspx?sport=MLB

MLB Trade Rumors http://www.mlbtraderumors.com/

KFFL http://www.kffl.com/hotw/mlb

Baseball America http://www.baseballamerica.com/today/

Sadly, Baseball Toaster is now finished as it was truly a great baseball site, perhaps the best. I feel like a friend just died.

The below are team sites that are notable for some reason or another. It's interesting that the Mariners and the Twins elicit such intelligent blogs:

Red Sox http://www.sonsofsamhorn.net/

NYY http://www.nyyfans.com/

Cubs http://www.northsidebaseball.com/

Padres http://ducksnorts.com/

Dodgers http://www.dodgerblues.com/ (pretty much an internet baseball riot but not to be missed)

Jays http://www.drunkjaysfans.com/ (mainly for the guides which are irreverntly amusing, mildly)

Twins http://www.sethspeaks.net/ and http://www.aarongleeman.com/

Mariners http://www.ussmariner.com/ and http://prospectinsider.com/

Giants http://www.onlybaseballmatters.com/

Useful, intelligent or interesting sites at which I often end up:

Cots http://mlbcontracts.blogspot.com/

PitchFX http://baseball.bornbybits.com/php/combined_tool.php

FanGraphs http://www.fangraphs.com/

Hit Tracker http://hittrackeronline.com/index.php

Injury Tool http://www.fantasypitchfx.com/DL/injury-tool.php

Ben Fry's Salary vs Performance http://benfry.com/salaryper/

Baseball Reference http://www.baseball-reference.com/

Baseball Cube http://www.thebaseballcube.com/

Baseball Almanac http://www.baseball-almanac.com/

Ballpark Digest http://ballparkdigest.com/

Japanese Baseball http://www.japanesebaseball.com/

Ground Rules by Park http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/umpires/ground_rules.jsp

Baseball Prospectus http://www.baseballprospectus.com/ (tough to get much info here as BP is pretty much by subscription. But don't miss the annual book. I'll say it again. Don't miss the annual book. Don't. It's available in stores in a few weeks I believe. I'll probably take the day off work to get it, it's that good.)

No opinion on these other team forums or blogs but I might go there occasionally to see how their fans react to their own news. But good or not they all happen to be in my link list, so here they are.

Marlins http://www.marlinbaseball.com/forums/index.php?act=idx

White Sox http://www.soxtalk.com/forums/

Cards http://www.vivaelbirdos.com/

Royals http://royalsnation.proboards62.com/index.cgi

Indians http://www.letsgotribe.com/

Nats http://www.federalbaseball.com/ and http://dcbb.blogspot.com/

Rays http://raysindex.com/

Angels http://www.angelsfanforum.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=ffedc2910e2a296da400fc868b99e87b&

Mets http://www.hotfootblog.com/

Reds http://www.redszone.com/forums/index.php?s=

Tigers http://tigerscentral.com/forums/

Brewers http://www.brewcrewball.com/

Pirates http://www.pittsburghsports.net/viewforum.php?f=1&sid=4ecfc0fd2a0aaf8eaad9d5596a83da7c

Astros http://evilwontwin.yuku.com/directory

I've missed a few teams, but some, like the D-Backs, I could care less about. I don't know why.

Add what I've missed. How can you ever get enough baseball? Unless it's the D-Backs, but that's just me.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Good list.

Another one that I don't think is listed, which I also like is:

http://www.minorleaguesplits.com/

I've used that link, and been frustrated because it only provides data on the current season. They should work out a deal with Baseball Cube to archive it.

I detest the ads which bombard visitors to Baseball Cube, but they've got the most complete stats I could find on minor league players -- at least as far back as their data base covers. They also include some collegiate stats, thought never the ones which I happened to be searching for at the time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awesome list, thanks.

I have a lot of those, but there's definitely some new ones there for me to check out.

Here's a couple more from my favorites that aren't already listed:

Baseball-Intellect - http://www.baseball-intellect.com/

Bucs Dugout - http://www.bucsdugout.com/

MLB Outsider - http://mvn.com/mlb/

Minor League Ball - http://www.minorleagueball.com/

First Inning - http://firstinning.com/

Baseball Factory - http://www.baseballfactory.com/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...
I've used that link, and been frustrated because it only provides data on the current season. They should work out a deal with Baseball Cube to archive it.

I detest the ads which bombard visitors to Baseball Cube, but they've got the most complete stats I could find on minor league players -- at least as far back as their data base covers. They also include some collegiate stats, thought never the ones which I happened to be searching for at the time.

They do past seasons as well.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.



  • Posts

    • Had an I'm happy for him, and a chuckle, reaction to Jon Singleton making it back to the big leagues just before Elias and Sig's team comes to town.    Evan Drellich's book had some of the story that around the time Singleton got one of the earliest extensions for someone on a prospect list, he was also battling some substance issues. The Brewers have long term been the NL Rays for me, but this year is unrolling for them more like they are the NL Twins.     Their record is short of what they probably hoped in part because of lots of injuries, but in the forgiving Central they are still at the top with the Pirates, and have a good lead on everyone. Their Bats went to sleep yesterday against a rookie making their MLB debut, but they had a good wraparound to Monday weekend in Cincinnati, winning 3 out of 4.     SP Matchups, Active Roster K-BB rank, 40 IP minimum, MLB-wide: (87) Gibson v. (62) Peralta (69) Kremer v. (67) Burnes (68) Bradish v. (71) Rea Burnes had the drama with his Arb hearing last offseason when the Club only had stellar performances to nitpick.    He hasn't pitched up to his best yet. BATS, Fangraphs wRC+ gives BAL a 105-87 edge entering the series.    Brice Turang is a prospect shortstop who has gotten some extra run with Willy Adames injury but MLB Arms are crushing him.     They've been going with Owen Miller in the 2nd spot between Yelich and Rowdy Tellez at the top of the order.     Luis Urias just back from 60-day IL with hamstring pull is 0-for-8 to open his MLB season....he helped Mexico's good WBC run.
    • They’re not promoting him so that he can sit on the bench in AAA.  
    • There are 8 weeks before the trade deadline.  Long time before teams need to decide whether they’re sellers.   Honestly, that’s why I don’t pay much attention to threads like these in early June.  The season is only 59 games in, and it’ll be 106 games in at the deadline.  A million things can change between now and then.  If I were king of the realm, trade deadline threads wouldn’t even exist until the all star break at the earliest.     
    • He is in his 5th season with St Louis, so I’m not sure he qualifies as a 10/5 guy yet or not.  I thought you had to complete 5 seasons? I know it’s 10 years and 5 consecutive years with your current org. Does a partial season count as the 5th year or do you need to complete it?  Not seeing anything concrete either way. Not that it matters since PG has a full NTC anyway.
    • So far for this year it’s looking like we should get a rental SP like Stroman or Giolito. That would allow us to pitch GR, and Hall, out of the bullpen in September. There’s a lot of season left, and still a good bit of time before the deadline. 
    • He doesn't have to play anywhere to be paid his contract, like Chris Davis. You have to think he still enjoys the game and can contribute (and show the Yankees they were wrong, but thanks for the $$$$$).
    • No problem if you don't care.  Different strokes for different folks. As I said earlier, I think as a whole we've been pretty restrained in the criticism this year, so we need a release every now and again.  We saw this thread and the Giants thread pop-up recently I think because she's been doing TV and people have been exposed to her more.  I have to listen to a lot of games on the radio because of my kids' schedules, and while I've no doubt been spoiled by Jon Miller and Joe Angel, there's no reason the Orioles should have Newman or Garceau doing PBP.  They can both be great as studio hosts.
  • Popular Contributors

×
×
  • Create New...