Jump to content

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

zff4

Link O' Rama for the Baseball Junkie

Recommended Posts

The internet has revolutionized how many of us get our information and there are great sites available for the baseball junkie. If you haven't built your link list, you don't know what you're missing. You probably know all these. But for those who don't, here you are:

These 13 indispensible sites I glace at every morning with my coffee and often before I hit the sack. Firefox's "open all in tabs" will make your life easier:

Baseball Geeks http://baseballgeeks.com/

Ballbug http://www.ballbug.com/

Ballhype http://ballhype.com/mlb/

Hardball Times http://www.hardballtimes.com/main

Baseball Digest Daily http://www.baseballdigestdaily.com/

Baseball Musings http://www.baseballmusings.com/

ProSports Daily http://www.prosportsdaily.com/mlb/mlb.html

The Baseball Analysts http://baseballanalysts.com/

Cardboard Gods http://cardboardgods.net/

Baseball Think Factory http://www.baseballthinkfactory.org/

Rotoworld http://www.rotoworld.com/content/playernews.aspx?sport=MLB

MLB Trade Rumors http://www.mlbtraderumors.com/

KFFL http://www.kffl.com/hotw/mlb

Baseball America http://www.baseballamerica.com/today/

Sadly, Baseball Toaster is now finished as it was truly a great baseball site, perhaps the best. I feel like a friend just died.

The below are team sites that are notable for some reason or another. It's interesting that the Mariners and the Twins elicit such intelligent blogs:

Red Sox http://www.sonsofsamhorn.net/

NYY http://www.nyyfans.com/

Cubs http://www.northsidebaseball.com/

Padres http://ducksnorts.com/

Dodgers http://www.dodgerblues.com/ (pretty much an internet baseball riot but not to be missed)

Jays http://www.drunkjaysfans.com/ (mainly for the guides which are irreverntly amusing, mildly)

Twins http://www.sethspeaks.net/ and http://www.aarongleeman.com/

Mariners http://www.ussmariner.com/ and http://prospectinsider.com/

Giants http://www.onlybaseballmatters.com/

Useful, intelligent or interesting sites at which I often end up:

Cots http://mlbcontracts.blogspot.com/

PitchFX http://baseball.bornbybits.com/php/combined_tool.php

FanGraphs http://www.fangraphs.com/

Hit Tracker http://hittrackeronline.com/index.php

Injury Tool http://www.fantasypitchfx.com/DL/injury-tool.php

Ben Fry's Salary vs Performance http://benfry.com/salaryper/

Baseball Reference http://www.baseball-reference.com/

Baseball Cube http://www.thebaseballcube.com/

Baseball Almanac http://www.baseball-almanac.com/

Ballpark Digest http://ballparkdigest.com/

Japanese Baseball http://www.japanesebaseball.com/

Ground Rules by Park http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/umpires/ground_rules.jsp

Baseball Prospectus http://www.baseballprospectus.com/ (tough to get much info here as BP is pretty much by subscription. But don't miss the annual book. I'll say it again. Don't miss the annual book. Don't. It's available in stores in a few weeks I believe. I'll probably take the day off work to get it, it's that good.)

No opinion on these other team forums or blogs but I might go there occasionally to see how their fans react to their own news. But good or not they all happen to be in my link list, so here they are.

Marlins http://www.marlinbaseball.com/forums/index.php?act=idx

White Sox http://www.soxtalk.com/forums/

Cards http://www.vivaelbirdos.com/

Royals http://royalsnation.proboards62.com/index.cgi

Indians http://www.letsgotribe.com/

Nats http://www.federalbaseball.com/ and http://dcbb.blogspot.com/

Rays http://raysindex.com/

Angels http://www.angelsfanforum.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=ffedc2910e2a296da400fc868b99e87b&

Mets http://www.hotfootblog.com/

Reds http://www.redszone.com/forums/index.php?s=

Tigers http://tigerscentral.com/forums/

Brewers http://www.brewcrewball.com/

Pirates http://www.pittsburghsports.net/viewforum.php?f=1&sid=4ecfc0fd2a0aaf8eaad9d5596a83da7c

Astros http://evilwontwin.yuku.com/directory

I've missed a few teams, but some, like the D-Backs, I could care less about. I don't know why.

Add what I've missed. How can you ever get enough baseball? Unless it's the D-Backs, but that's just me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Plus Member
Good list.

Another one that I don't think is listed, which I also like is:

http://www.minorleaguesplits.com/

I've used that link, and been frustrated because it only provides data on the current season. They should work out a deal with Baseball Cube to archive it.

I detest the ads which bombard visitors to Baseball Cube, but they've got the most complete stats I could find on minor league players -- at least as far back as their data base covers. They also include some collegiate stats, thought never the ones which I happened to be searching for at the time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Awesome list, thanks.

I have a lot of those, but there's definitely some new ones there for me to check out.

Here's a couple more from my favorites that aren't already listed:

Baseball-Intellect - http://www.baseball-intellect.com/

Bucs Dugout - http://www.bucsdugout.com/

MLB Outsider - http://mvn.com/mlb/

Minor League Ball - http://www.minorleagueball.com/

First Inning - http://firstinning.com/

Baseball Factory - http://www.baseballfactory.com/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Plus Member
I've used that link, and been frustrated because it only provides data on the current season. They should work out a deal with Baseball Cube to archive it.

I detest the ads which bombard visitors to Baseball Cube, but they've got the most complete stats I could find on minor league players -- at least as far back as their data base covers. They also include some collegiate stats, thought never the ones which I happened to be searching for at the time.

They do past seasons as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



  • Posts

    • This is sort of like Tony’s power rankings, but I’m evaluating players based on my expectations and hopes for them going into the season.   Here’s the rules: nobody’s allowed to be stagnant.  Their stock is either up or down. Guys who haven’t played yet due to injuries are stock down so far as I’m concerned because I hoped they’d be playing by now.  DSL/FCL guys are excluded since their season hadn’t started. These grades may seem harsh in some cases, but remember, the standard is what I hoped or expected.  Stock up: Rutschman, Rodriguez, Hall, Henderson, Norby, Bradish, Bautista, Rhodes, Williams, Haskin. Stock down: Mayo, Cowser, Stowers, Westburg, Kjerstad, Rom, Pinto, Lowther, Baumler, Baumann, Ortiz, Vavra, Young, Willems, Deson, Servideo, Rangel. I didn’t include Basallo, Hernandez or Trimble (who we knew was out for the year).    Just because I put someone on the stock down list doesn’t mean I don’t think highly of them or that I think they can’t bounce back.  It just means I was hoping for a bit more.    
    • He will need to adjust better both in game and between games as hitters have seen him more and he needs to be less predictable the second time through .. otherwise he will be a bullpen guy. 
    • FWIW Eno Sarris on this weekend's Rates and Barrels podcast guessed Top 15-20 come midseason re-ranks based on a seemingly flawless AA breakout while still 20 (seasonal age 21). Colorado's opposite SS this week Ezequiel Tovar also looks like a main rival for an Eastern League MVP award I really hope he doesn't get the playing time to challenge for.
    • Hopefully batting skills wise he's just having whatever Coby Mayo was having last year at this time.
    • He also doesn’t have to reach that ceiling right away. We’re still rebuilding and he’s taking his lumps in his first taste of MLB games. 
    • How’s the defense and speed?  His he just a bat?
    • Went to the game last night, and had a lot of fun. Brought my own food/water & spent the money on beer. For a 16oz local beer thought the price was reasonable for a stadium (paid several dollars more for a lower quality beer at Merriweather last weekend, and the prices at the PGA in OK this weekend are a lot nother level of crazy). Left at the end of the game and got the souvenir ticket. Just overall a cool atmosphere with all the cheering for Adley, several people around us had bought tickets today for that purpose. And got to see his first hit
  • Popular Contributors

×
×
  • Create New...