Cal 2131 and Eddie 500th HR anniversary today

eddie83

Cal was 21 years ago today and Eddie 20.

Maybe Gallardo will pitch a no hitter tonight?

I was at the game Murray hit his 500th. I remember it was a against Detroit and there was a long rain delay. I believe it was close to, or after, midnight when he hit it and the stadium was half empty.

I was at the game Murray hit his 500th. I remember it was a against Detroit and there was a long rain delay. I believe it was close to, or after, midnight when he hit it and the stadium was half empty.

I had tickets, and didn't go due to the bad weather and the fact that I couldn't find anyone to go with me. I can't believe I missed it -- one of my biggest regrets as a fan.

This was my first Orioles game ever. I was a freshman at college and we went as part of resident life event right after classes started. We stayed for the game and missed the buses back. We had to grab a cab back to the dorms.

Thanks for this. Speaking of Eddie, a friend of mine wrote a small blog piece (with photos) of the Charlotte Knights recent (9/4) honoring of the Charlotte Orioles. Eddie made an appearance. Eddie was there in '76. I played in the NC high school 4A championship there at the old Crockett Park in '78. Cal was there '79 and '80. http://danielcoston.blogspot.com/2016/09/charlotte-os-night-knights-stadium.html

Baltimore Sun wrote an article about what happened to the ball.

The Ball rests inside a clear plastic cube in the hands of a man wearing a black suit and a face like he's auditioning for the Secret Service.

This baseball was just any baseball until Eddie Murray hit it into Camden Yards' right-field bleachers for his 500th homer. Then it rolled down a rabbit hole into a strange universe where reality is whatever you can afford to make it.