Did Elias make a blunder?

doccat

If he was going to add another starter by trade or free agency, the price just shot through the roof with today’s news…

He should have made the move prior to today if he’s known about these injuries for a while…

I know if I’m an agent or GM and I get a call from Elias my asking price is WAY higher today than it was 24 hours ago

• Upvote 1

Not sure how much leverage it really gives an agent when they had already planned on returning 2 of last years starters to the rotation in Tyler Wells and Cole Irvin. It's not like they are in dire straights. It just means the depth has thinned a little bit and it's next man up.

• Upvote 1

A lot of people seem to think this about asking prices. 

I think in most cases, your asking price is set more by what the market as a whole is willing to pay, and not the specific needs of the one team you're talking to at that moment. There might be some impact on Elias' willingness to spend resources, but he isn't going to suddenly pay way above market rate for someone just because of these injuries.

• Upvote 1

I have been thinking, could someone like Snell consider a 1 year deal and go back on the market again next year?  Or if I was Snell, I would do something like 1 year deal with player option for second year. People say that would only favor the player but if the player likes the team and the money is right.  I don’t really know, but I smell a Snell rumor or deal coming around in the next month. I would imagine if he were a consideration, the ground work has been laid for at least a month. 
Snell makes more sense to me than Cease and it isn’t given he is going to sign a long term contract this year. I would take Snell for $30mm this season over trading for Cease. 

I don't believe Elias will get reactionary just because. There's not a lot he could do about the timing when pitchers and catchers report and guys were missing.