Agree or Disagree: We MUST add 1 more starting pitcher....

DocJJ

by trade or FA signing....

I think we must add one.  Injuries happen.  Even if a pitcher is lucky enough to avoid a serious injury, there are always tweaks and minor things that cause starters to miss a start here and there, even things like finger blisters.  Second, beyond Wells and Irwin there aren't any starters with track records. We'd be forced to go with Zimmerman, Povich, McDermott, or Seth Johnson....

• Upvote 1

I think we'd all feel more comfortable if we did, and I'm not sure what Lorenzen's asking price or projected contract is, but he seems to make a lot of sense for us. Even if (and I'm leaning towards that being a pretty big if) Means and Bradish come back fully healthy this year, that doesn't mean that Lorenzen is a wasted acquisition. Guys need rest, and guys miss starts all the time. I don't want to be part of a 6 man rotation, but I think the likelihood of facing that scenario at any point this year is pretty small.

Bradish and Means are both total question marks at this point so I can't really see how anyone could possibly disagree.

It doesn't necessarily need to be Snell or Cease, but they obviously need to add someone so that we aren't opening the season with both Wells and Irvin in the rotation and Zimmerman and McDermott as the fallbacks.

14 minutes ago, DocJJ said:

I think we must add one.  Injuries happen.  Even if a pitcher is lucky enough to avoid a serious injury, there are always tweaks and minor things that cause starters to miss a start here and there, even things like finger blisters.  Second, beyond Wells and Irwin there aren't any starters with track records. We'd be forced to go with Zimmerman, Povich, McDermott, or Seth Johnson....

Whose Irwin?

Disagree that we must. Take a look at what the Braves got out of their 5th starters last year. Even if a black hole opens up in that 5th spot, it's not a death knell for this team's competitiveness.