BA's Top 200 Draft Prospects (1 - 100)

Names and stats : http://www.baseballamerica.com/today/draft/draft-preview/2009/268178.html

Scouting Reports : http://www.baseballamerica.com/online/draft/draft-tracker/2009/268184.html

Their Top 10 are :

1. Strasburg
  2. Ackley
  3. Tate
  4. Gibson
  5. Turner
  6. White
  7. Crow
  8. Matzek
  9. Scheppers
  10. Purke

I am no draft expert, but I am a little surprised that Gibson was rated the 2nd highest pitcher, behing Strasburg.

Their take on Gibson :

He relies on two-seam fastballs more than four-seamers, usually pitching at 88-91 mph with good sink and tailing action, though he can reach back for 94 mph when needed. He has two of the better secondary pitches in the draft, a crisp 82-85 mph slider and a deceptive changeup with fade that can generate swings and misses. All of his offerings play up because he has excellent command and pitchability. He repeats his smooth delivery easily, and his 6-foot-6, 208-pound frame allows him to throw on a steep downhill plane. If there's a knock on Gibson, it's that he hasn't added much velocity during his three years with the Tigers.

I'm really not, I've been a pretty big fan of Gibson most of the year, he might not be the sexiest pick, but he's going to be steady, he's going to make it to the majors, and he's going to be better than Adam Eaton ;) I'll say that much at least.

I don't agree with Turner that high though. His stats are inflated a bit, he has feasted on some mediocre competition early in the year and it seems that is what he is being rated on. To each their own I guess.

Allstar, what is Gibson's ceiling? I understand that he's the "safe" pick in this years top talent, but is he looking to settle in a maybe a #2 starter, or are we talking about more of a 3-4 starter? At this point, I'm more sold on Crow and Matzek because I can see them becoming #2 starters, and even if they don't fulfill that ceiling, they could settle in as solid #3's.