Rank the Orioles, by trade value

Frobby

I'm curious how posters would rank the trade value of the Orioles' players, considering performance, salary, years under team control, etc.    Here's how I'd rank them (years under team control in parentheses):

Machado (2)

Britton (2)

Gausman (4)

Bundy (5)

Schoop (3)

Tillman (1)

Jones (2)

Givens (5)

Brach (2)

O'Day (3)

Hardy (2)

Davis (6)

Kim (1)

Castillo (1)

Miley (1)

Jimenez (1)

Gallardo (2)

Joseph (4)

Rickard (5)

Flaherty (2)

If I had to guess, I'd say a couple of our minor league prospects slot above Kim.    

2 minutes ago, Rene88 said:

Interesting thread.

Tillman definitely higher than Brach.

Davis too high with that contract. Same with O'Day.

Odd thing to say about O'Day, since I had forgotten to include him on my list entirely.    I've now added him in, slotting him just behind Givens, though I suspect that may underrate his value a little.    

2 minutes ago, PaulFolk said:

I think Brach has only 2 years of team control remaining, in case that changes your ranking of him.

Shoot, I thought he was a Super-2 last year.   It bums me out to learn we only have him under control 2 more years.   I've knocked him down several pegs, below Givens and ahead of O'Day.   

9 minutes ago, Rene88 said:

Interesting thread.

Tillman definitely higher than Brach.

Davis too high with that contract. Same with O'Day.

There is nothing wrong with O'Day's contract. It is more than fair in today's market. Brad Ziegler who is 3 years older than O'Day and very comparable in effectiveness IMO just signed for 2 years/$16 million. O'Day is owed 3 more years for $25 million.

My top ten based on cost, proximity to free agency, etc:

1. Machado

2. Britton

3. Gausman

4. Bundy

5. Schoop

6. Tillman

7. Brach

8. Givens

9. Kim

10. Hardy/Jones (tie)