Is Angelos' family legal issue close to resolution?

SteveA

In one of those Sunday "notes from all around baseball" columns for USA Today, Bob Nightengale has a one sentence blurb:

"Peter Angelos' family legal dispute is nearing a conclusion, which should trigger the Baltimore Orioles going on sale soon in the seller's market".

Is this true?  Is there really any reason to believe we are close to a resolution of the John/Lou lawsuit???

I'm no legal expert but if the MASN situation has taught us anything, it seems like the legal system can be glacially slow.  I've heard nothing to indicate that this dispute is close to resolution.

• Upvote 1

10 minutes ago, Frobby said:

Last I looked, there was a trial set for July, scheduled to last for a month.  Honestly, I don’t think the lawsuit has much to do with anything involving selling the team.  

I'm surprised to hear you say that. I men, you're the lawyer around these parts, but I would think it would be tough to sell a team where there's a legal dispute over ownership.

45 minutes ago, Tony-OH said:

I'm surprised to hear you say that. I men, you're the lawyer around these parts, but I would think it would be tough to sell a team where there's a legal dispute over ownership.

I said that because considerations other than the dispute - I.e. the tax ramifications of selling now - way overshadow the legal dispute in terms of importance.   I don’t think the lawsuit has a lot of merit, but I certainly agree that a potential buyer would want to be sure the potential seller actually had the authority to complete the sale.  

Edited by Frobby
  • Upvote 1

21 minutes ago, Frobby said: