Hmm… so about that qualifying offer to Santander?

Last month it seemed like we wouldn’t have offered him arbitration if that were a possibility. Now he’s gone absolutely ballistic and is on pace for 40+ HR, could be an all star, and he looks in that good FA walk year shape. The Switch Hitter aspect is huge. 

I’d say that if the season ended today that the QO is pretty close to a slam dunk. Maybe not a Lebron taking 5 steps dunk on a fast break, but a good Pat Connaughon dunk. 

What say you?

• Haha 1

I've been saying QO for two years now. Santander's hot month just confirms it. 

Possible outcomes are all good:

Santander says yes and he comes back on a Joc Pederson one year deal.

Santander says no but we have leverage to sign him to a team friendly extension.

Santander says no and walks, and we get draft pick comp.

I think he says no and goes for a Castellanos type 5/100 contract. He might settle for 4/80 but that is plenty for him to turn down the QO. 

Is he in the running for Player of the month? .300/1.090 in June and some big HR's against major market teams.  

• Upvote 3

7 minutes ago, Aristotelian said:

Is he in the running for Player of the month? .300/1.090 in June and some big HR's against major market teams.  

I think he’d lose out on player of the month to the other guy in this photo if June ended today.

IMG_3650.thumb.jpeg.39e72048c85161f4f33d5df14f8c7629.jpeg

Edited by e16bball

31 minutes ago, sportsfan8703 said:

Last month it seemed like we wouldn’t have offered him arbitration if that were a possibility. Now he’s gone absolutely ballistic and is on pace for 40+ HR, could be an all star, and he looks in that good FA walk year shape. The Switch Hitter aspect is huge. 

I’d say that if the season ended today that the QO is pretty close to a slam dunk. Maybe not a Lebron taking 5 steps dunk on a fast break, but a good Pat Connaughon dunk. 

What say you?