Great ACC players who never made a noise in the NBA

Frobby

One of the great mysteries to me is why some guys who are great college players never make the slightest impact in the NBA.

For example, when I was in college, Rod Griffin was a tremendous power forward who was the 1977 ACC player of the year. I would have bet anything on him being a good NBA player, but he never even made it into the league.

More recently, Joe Forte was the ACC co-player of the year in 2001 as a sophomore. He played only bits of 2 seasons in the NBA, averaging 1.2 points a game. I thought he made a mistake going pro as a sophomore, but I still would have expected more of a career than that.

As a Duke grad, I can think of several of their players who never really had much of an NBA career, in some cases due to pretty serious injuries (Bobby Hurley and Jay Williams), in other cases because their skills just didn't translate very well to the NBA (Chris Carawell, Trajan Langdon). At the same time, I'm sometimes surprised at the guys who do have very successful careers (Chris Duhon, Carlos Boozer).

Who are some ACC players who have surprised you once they reached (or didn't reach) the "next level?"

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply
As a Duke grad, I can think of several of their players who never really had much of an NBA career, in some cases due to pretty serious injuries (Bobby Hurley and Jay Williams), in other cases because their skills just didn't translate very well to the NBA (Chris Carawell, Trajan Langdon).

That one shocked me. Langdon was probably my favorite non-Maryland college player, back in the day (if I remember correctly, the guy's actually a pretty brilliant dude, too). I'm a big fan of players who can heave it from just about anywhere, with a hand in his face, and still make it.