I've had it

SteveA

We're playing a team that has scored 22 fewer runs than us on the year.

We throw our recent first round draft pick out there, a "can't miss" (ha-ha) prospect who is in his 3rd season in the majors. They throw a has-been never-was who last won a game in the big leagues in 2005.

And they are killing us. We get the bases loaded with no one out and our "cleanup hitter" (ha-ha) strikes out and our "franchise catcher" (ha-ha) hits into a DP.

I think I'm going to take the rest of the season off. Stop watching or listening to every game. Not even put it on the secondary TV without sound while I'm watching something else on the big screen. I've NEVER done this before. Not even in 1988. Hell, in September 1988, having gotten out of college in June, I was down at the stadium meeting with a sales rep to buy my first ever season ticket plan. Not in any of these 14 losing years have I ever quit watching or listening to the games. I remember the last Sunday of a losing season 4 or 5 years ago we got no hit for 5 innings by some Boston scrub and then the rain came down at Fenway. It took them about 2 or 3 hours before they called the game and ended our season. But I kept checking the scoreboard and was ready to put the game back on TV as soon as it resumed, just to watch the final couple innings of a losing season and see if we could get a hit. So I have NEVER quit on this team before. But watching this crap is no longer fun. The rare wins no longer make it worthwhile. Watching to see young kids "develop"? Who the hell are you kidding. Our players don't develop. They show promise and regress, or get hurt, or both. Or they have talent but never "figure it out". Anyone who thinks that the next batch of prospects, the Bundys and Machado, will somehow be different, is just being an idiot. The vast majority of Orioles prospects, no matter how highly touted they are by everyone in baseball, don't live up to their promise. They get hurt. They don't develop at the b